Trees at Magnolia Springs

This past weekend  I was away on a camping trip with my husband and two boys. We took advantage of the long weekend in observance of the Martin Luther King holiday, and took off to one of our favorite Georgia state parks nearby, Magnolia Springs.

The weather was cold and windy, perfect for sitting by the fire. I did this little study on the camping journal.

At the beginning, I set out to do a pen drawing with my favorite sepia copic pen, but then I changed my mind and switched to graphite. I realized early on, that I was really in the mood for a drawing emphasizing big blocks of value.  I created some of the value shapes with the side of the pencil and then layered with finer marks, an approach I wouldn’t have used with a fine pen.

I liked the end result and had a great time slowing down to take in the beautiful natural setting.

Trees at Magnolia Springs

Adriana Burgos, Study of trees at Magnolia Springs, sepia pen and graphite on sketchbook paper 2016

2 thoughts on “Trees at Magnolia Springs

Leave a Reply

