Limited palette drawings

I don’t consider myself a landscape artist but when I go on camping trips with my family I love taking time out to draw nature from direct observation. These two studies are journal entries from my camping sketchbooks. The first  is a watercolor sketch of the woods in Stone Mountain. I did this while sitting at our campsite looking out to other campers among the woods. I used my travel watercolor kit and chose to work with a limited palette of earth tones. Limited palettes in color drawings keep the composition unified and can be a fun challenge for the artist, since it requires a simplification of the observed space on many levels, shape, form and color. This was done during the fall, so there was a red brown and orange dominance in the space as the leaves were turning.

The second image is a mixed media drawing done at Driftwood beach in Jekyll Island this summer. I chose to use copic markers (which can resemble water color at times), graphite and multiliner copic markers. The great thing about using markers is that they are immediate and easy to use on the go, no need for water containers and brushes or palettes. They are great for color studies and their transparent quality allows for subtle value and color effects. It is important however to consider the paper you are using. In this case I worked directly on my multimedia sketchbook instead of working on the marker paper. The porous quality of my sketchbook causes the markers to bleed through. I don’t mind it much since the sketchbooks are very personal in my case. Once again I explored a limited palette, in this case, focusing on warm against cool temperatures, which is a fun way of using minimal color in a drawing. I enjoyed the balance between large value and color blocks and fine linear buildup with graphite and multiliner pens.

2 thoughts on “Limited palette drawings

  1. Adriana, this is so cool to combine your family camping trips, and your painting. I can imagine both being very restful and renewing.
    And wow, never knew that markers can be used. The end result as always is so amazing. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    I have your blog another acknowledgement/shout out in my latest post, hoping to bring more readers your way.

    http://theoldfellowgoesrunning.com/2015/07/16/happy-birthday-happy-blogaversary-and-bestowing-some-blogger-love/comment-page-1/#comment-1588

    Have a wonderful day, and rest of summer! 🙂

    ~Carl~

    Like

Leave a Reply

