Why blog about drawing?

Drawing has always been a central part of my life. Here I am decades ago, working on a figurative piece. To the day, I am still fascinated with figures in motion and continue to learn from artists who inspire me.

 

drawing-ballerinas1

Here I am, age six drawing in our porch.

drawing-ballerinas2

I was inspired by my oldest sister Sara and wanted so badly to draw like her!

As a child, my passions were playing outside, reading, drawing, nature and all kinds of sports. Throughout elementary school I dreamed of being a writer, I sort of still do….

My pursuit of a Fine Arts career was driven by my love for drawing and aspirations of living a creative life. In my formation as a graphic designer at the University of Costa Rica, drawing was emphasized in the program. In my painting practice, preparatory sketches (from thumbnails to fully developed value drawings) are important and lately my studio work is mainly composed of drawings.

drills sketchbook

Sketchbook 2- page spread. Drawings from direct observation during karate class.

sparring drillswp

“Sparring Drills” 2012 38.5″ x 29.5″ charcoal and pastel on paper. This drawing was based on the sketchbook page above.

I am currently a professor in the Foundation Studies program at the Savannah College of Art and Design. Working with a diverse group of students allows me to reflect on the role of drawing in different art and design fields, without forgetting that it’s an activity that helps individuals develop further as human beings.

This blog will include my reflections on drawing as an artist, instructor and constant learner.  I would like to post weekly on this blog and reinforce my studio practice through writing. As I continue on this journey, I am ready to share my insights and connect with other people who practice drawing in one way or another. I am also very excited about the prospect of fulfilling my writing dreams through blogging!

Thank you for visiting.

 

One thought on “Why blog about drawing?

  1. Hi,

    I find it interesting you blog on drawing. I have always been interested in drawing but I am totally not interested in humans, only cartoon animals. My parents frowned upon me taking up Arts so it is something hidden inside me for almost 20 years. It is only recently I started to draw again after my father died and post them up on my blog. If I have the chance, I wish I could go for classes to draw better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

